June 15, 2022 | Car Accidents
Oklahoma, like every other state, regulates rideshare companies and their drivers. This movement began in 2013 when California became the first state to pass laws that regulated Uber, Lyft, and other ride-hailing businesses.
Oklahoma’s rideshare regulations set a baseline for the vehicle and driver requirements used by Uber and Lyft. Sometimes the rideshare companies set higher standards than the Oklahoma statutes, but they cannot set lower standards.
Here is an overview of Oklahoma’s vehicle and driver requirements for Uber and Lyft.
Oklahoma’s Rideshare Laws and Regulations
Oklahoma’s rideshare laws went into effect in 2015. Like other states, Oklahoma had several concerns about ride-hailing businesses, called “transportation network companies” (“TNCs”) in the state.
These concerns included:
- Crimes committed by drivers against passengers
- Criminals posing as drivers
- Injuries resulting from poor drivers or unsafe vehicles
- Inadequate injury compensation after a Lyft or Uber accident
Oklahoma law addresses each of these concerns. Oklahoma requires TNCs to:
- Conduct a background check and restrict people who committed certain crimes from driving
- Provide a picture of the driver and vehicle license plate number on the app
- Require drivers to be over 19 and have a fairly clean driving record
- Drive a vehicle that meets all of the safety standards for vehicles in the state
- Require drivers to carry auto insurance and have a company-wide liability policy
The state can revoke a TNC’s permit if the TNC fails to meet the law’s requirements.
Driver Requirements in Oklahoma for Uber and Lyft
Uber and Lyft have stricter driver requirements than those set out by Oklahoma’s law. In Oklahoma, you can drive for a rideshare business if you are at least 19 years old and have a valid driver’s license.
But Lyft requires drivers to be at least 25 years old. And Uber requires drivers to be at least 21 years old. Uber also requires you to have at least one year of driving experience for drivers over 25 and three years of experience for drivers under 25. Drivers must pass a criminal background check.
Under Oklahoma law, you cannot drive if you have a conviction within the past seven years for:
- Fraud or theft
- Acts of violence
- Acts of terror
- Crime involving property damage
- Use of a vehicle to commit a felony
Oklahoma also prohibits you from driving if you were convicted of a sexual offense within the past seven years or if you appear on the sex offender registry.
Finally, Oklahoma requires the TNC to review your driving record. The state prohibits you from driving for Uber or Lyft if you have:
- More than three moving violations in the past three years
- One major violation within the past three years
A major violation includes evading police, reckless driving, and driving on a suspended license.
Vehicle Requirements in Oklahoma for Uber and Lyft
Oklahoma has significantly lower vehicle requirements than many other states. Many states require drivers to use newer model cars. But Oklahoma allows drivers to use any street-legal vehicle.
Uber and Lyft have tighter requirements than the state when it comes to your vehicle. Lyft requires you to use a vehicle with the model year 2006 or newer. The vehicle must have four doors and eight or fewer seats (including the driver).
Uber requires you to use a vehicle 15 years old or younger. It must have four doors and have no visible cosmetic problems.
Insurance Requirements and Pursuing Compensation in Oklahoma for Uber and Lyft Accidents
You can pursue injury compensation if your Uber or Lyft driver negligently causes a car accident. Oklahoma requires all drivers to carry bodily liability insurance with at least 25,000 per person or 50,000 per accident. The state also requires Uber and Lyft to carry $1 million in liability coverage when a driver is engaged in a prearranged ride.
If you were injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, you may have multiple avenues for compensation. A personal injury lawyer can help you identify the best options and pursue the compensation you deserve.
Contact the Oklahoma City Car Accident Lawyers at McGuire Law Firm Today for Free Consultation
For more information, please contact the Oklahoma City Car Accident law firm of McGuire Law Firm at our nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve throughout Oklahoma and its surrounding areas:
McGuire Law Firm – Oklahoma City
14 NE 13th St, Suite 113
Oklahoma City, OK 73104
McGuire Law Firm – Edmond
200 E 10th Street Plaza
Edmond, OK 73034